Protection of life, health, safety, and welfare of Arizona’s most valuable assets





For Yarnell Hill
Fire Documents
Click Here

Location of
Public Meeting Notices

2014 Wage Info
•  AMW Statutory Max - $4,256.94

•  Arizona Minimum Wage - $7.90

•  Get Info:2014 Az Minimum Wage
•  Get Info:2014 Az AMW Max

Job Opportunities
at the ICA

Public Notices

Recent News & Events











Labor Department

Karen Axsom, Director
Email: laboradmin@ica.state.az.us
Phoenix: 800 W Washington St, Phoenix AZ 85007 - Phone: (602) 542-4515
Tucson: 2675 East Broadway, Tucson AZ 85716 - Phone: (520) 628-5459

Click for Phone List of ICA Divisions

Frequently Asked Questions - Wage Payment Laws

How often does an employer have to pay its employees?

Each employer in this state must designate two or more days in each month, not more than sixteen days apart, as fixed paydays for payment of wages to their employees.

If a holiday falls on the scheduled payday, can an employer pay its employees on the next regular workday?

No, an employer must pay on or before the scheduled payday.

Can an employer pay its employees once per month?

The employer can pay its employees once per month only if its principal place of business is located outside Arizona and if its payroll system is centralized outside the State of Arizona and the employees in question are professional, administrative, executive employees or outside salespersons as defined under the Fair Labor Standards Act or the employees are employed in a supervisory capacity as defined under the National Labor Relations Act.

What is Arizona’s minimum wage and does Arizona have an overtime law?

Arizona does have a minimum wage, but not an overtime law. If the employer is covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act, the federal overtime laws apply. For information on the Federal overtime laws, contact the Federal Wage and Hour Division at www.wagehour.dol.gov.

Arizona's minimum wage went into effect January 1, 2007. Effective January 1, 2012, the minimum wage is $7.65 per hour. Every employer covered under the Act is required to pay each employee wages not less than this amount. For more information, click here.

When must an employer pay someone who has been terminated?

An employer must pay someone who has been terminated within seven of the employees' working days or the next payday, whichever is sooner. School districts may pay wages due the employee within ten calendar days from the date of discharge.

When must an employer pay someone who has quit?

Employees who quit are to be paid on the regular payday for the pay period during which the resignation occurred.

When may an employer withhold an employee’s wages?

An employer may only withhold an employee’s wages when the employer is required by state or federal law, the employer has the employee’s prior written authorization, or there is a reasonable good faith dispute as to the amount of wages due, including the amount of any counterclaim, reimbursement, recoupment or set-off asserted by the employer.

What can be done if an employer is not paying wages in accordance with the State’s Wage Payment Laws?

A written complaint can be sent to the State Labor Department and the Department will investigate the matter.

What if the employer is found to be in violation of the State’s Wage Payment Laws?

The State Labor Department will inform the employer that it needs to come into compliance.

What if I have more specific questions?

Contact the Labor Department of the Industrial Commission of Arizona.