Protection of life, health, safety, and welfare of Arizona’s most valuable assets





Location of
Public Meeting Notices

2014 Wage Info
•  AMW Statutory Max - $4,256.94

•  Arizona Minimum Wage - $7.90

•  Get Info:2014 Az Minimum Wage
•  Get Info:2014 Az AMW Max

Job Opportunities
at the ICA

Public Notices

Recent News & Events











Labor Department

Karen Axsom, Director
Email: laboradmin@ica.state.az.us
Phoenix: 800 W Washington St, Phoenix AZ 85007 - Phone: (602) 542-4515
Tucson: 2675 East Broadway, Tucson AZ 85716 - Phone: (520) 628-5459

Click for Phone List of ICA Divisions

Frequently Asked Questions - Youth Employment Laws

Do youths under the age of eighteen (18) require a work permit in order to be employed in Arizona?

Work permits are not required in the State of Arizona. Is permission from the youth’s parents required or helpful? Permission from the youths’ parents is not a requirement nor does it allow youths to work in violation of Arizona’s Youth Employment Laws.

Is it discrimination to ask youths their ages and to provide evidence of their ages?

It is not discrimination to ask youths their age and to provide evidence of their age as age discrimination applies to individuals aged 40-70. Employers need to verify ages as they can still be subject to penalties if a youth does not disclose his/her actual age.

What happens if an employer is found to be in violation of the State’s Youth Employment Laws?

When an employer is found to be in violation of the State’s Youth Employment Laws, a penalty is assessed. The maximum penalty that can be assessed is $1,000.00.

What can an employer do if it does not agree with the Department’s Cease and Desist Order & Civil Monetary Penalty?

A hearing can be requested in writing within twenty (20) days after the date of issuance of the order. In addition, an informal conference with the Director of the State Labor Department can be requested.

If there is a conflict between State and Federal laws, which is applicable?

If both federal law and state law are applicable, the stricter law governs.

Does the federal government provide information about federal child labor laws?

For information about the federal child labor laws, contact the Federal Wage and Hour Division at www.youthrules.dol.gov .